4 Jul

I was absent from blogging about China while in SE Asia for a holiday, but I wasn’t absent from China. I saw and met so many Chinese, both travelers and tour groups, in Vietnam, Cambodia, and Thailand. I was privileged to meet a few young Chinese and talk to them, and it’s both nice and sobering to see how adventurous, and confident they are about traveling around in foreign countries and using foreign languages, specifically English. I feel that with more and more people like them, it’s a sign that China is progressing and younger people are becoming more outgoing, openminded and knowledgeable. Another sign of the increased Chinese presence in international tourism was the amount of vendors, especially youngsters, who spoke, pitched and hassled people like me in Mandarin in Cambodia’s Angkor. Please forgive me for the absence; more posts and links to China news should be forthcoming.

Leave a Reply

